Social Emotional Learning Indicators Workgroup

Social Emotional Learning Indicators Workgroup In the 2017 Operational Budget, ESSB 5883 Sec 501 (31) directed OSPI to convene a workgroup to build upon the work of the social emotional learning benchmarks work group established under section 501(34), chapter 4, Laws of 2015 3rd sp. sess. The work group must identify and articulate developmental indicators for each grade level for each of the social emotional learning benchmarks, solicit feedback from stakeholders, and develop a model of best practices or guidance for schools on implementing the benchmarks and indicators.

The workgroup will submit recommendations to the education committees of the legislature, and the office of the governor by June 30, 2019

Authorizing Legislation

ESSB 5883, Sec 501 (31) - 2017

Meeting Agendas


Name Representing Role
Dr. Mona Johnson, Facilitator Student Engagement and Support OSPI
Janet Fraatz Department of Early Learning Department of Early Learning
Ron Hertel Student Engagement and Support OSPI
Laurie Dils Teaching and Learning OSPI
Senator John McCoy Educational Opportunity Gap Oversight and Accountability Committee EOGOAC
Rose Spidell Office of the Education Ombuds OEO
Dr. Debbie Tully Higher Education - faculty member with expertise in SEL WACTE
Denisha Saucedo, Teacher Currently Employed K12 Educator WA Education Association
Joe Belmonte, Supt. Currently Employed K12 Administrator WA Association of School Administrators
Annemarie Hutson School Psychologist WA Association of School Psychologists
Beth Nelson School Social Worker WA Association of School Social Workers
Juanita Hill School Counselor WA School Counselor Association
Sherry Krainick School/Parent Organization PTA
Dr. John Glenewinkel, Supt. Rural School Districts Republic/Curlew School District
Mick Miller ESDs WA Association of Educational Service Districts
Sarah Butcher Stakeholder Group SEL for WA
Caryn Park Commission on Asian Pacific American Affairs CAPAA
Alex Ybarra Commission on Hispanic Affairs CHA
Dr. Wanda Billingsly / Timmie Foster Commission on African American Affairs CAAA
Luisa Sanchez-Nilsen Governor's Office of Indian Affairs/Tribal Leaders Congress GOIA/TLC
Marjorie James Tribal Leader TLC
Porter Eichenlaub Statewide ELO intermediary Schools Out Washington
Jessica Werner / Mona Grife Additional Member Youth Development Executives of King County
Jordan Posamentier Additional Member Committee for Children