Types of Tribal Schools

State–Tribal Education Compact Schools are operated according to the terms of a state–tribal education compact.
BIE Tribally Controlled Grant Schools are funded by the BIE and operated according to grant and (if applicable) inter-local agreement terms.
BIE Contract Schools are funded by the BIE and operated according to the terms of a contract with the BIE and (if applicable) any inter-local agreement.

Schools by Type

State-Tribal Education Compact

Chief Kitsap Academy
Brenda Guerrero, Acting Superintendent
PO BOX 498
Suquamish, WA 98392

State-Tribal Education Compact & BIE Tribally Controlled Grant

Chief Leschi Schools (K–12)
Puyallup Tribal School System
Marc Brouillet, Superintendent
5625-52 Street East
Puyallup WA 98371
FAX 253-445-2350

Lummi Nation Schools (K–12)
Bernie Thomas, Director of Education
2334 Lummi View Drive
Bellingham WA 98226-9277
FAX 360-758-4303

Muckleshoot Tribal School
John Lombardi, Chief School Administrator
15209 SE 376th Street
Auburn WA 98092
FAX 253-939-5568

Quileute Tribal School (K–12)
Mark Decker, Superintendent
La Push WA 98350
FAX 360-374-9608

State-Tribal Education Compact & BIE Contract

Wa He Lut Indian School (K-8)
Harvey Whitford, Principal
11110 Conine Avenue SE
Olympia WA 98503
(Nisqually Community/ Franks Landing)
FAX 360-456-1319

Yakama Nation Tribal Jr. /Sr. High School (8-12)
Raynel Begay, Superintendent
PO BOX 151
Toppenish WA 98948
509-865-5121 Ext. 4516
FAX 509-865-6092

BIE Tribally Controlled Grant

Paschal Sherman Indian School (K-9)
Cooperative Agreement with Omak S.D.
Lori Falcone
169 North End Omak Lake Road
Omak WA 98841
(Colville Confederated Tribes)
FAX 509-422-7538

Tribal Compact Agreements–Below are some of the Tribal Compacts that have been created by tribal nations and OSPI in setting up a tribe’s education programs, for reference.