Arts K–12 Learning Standards

Contact Information

Danelle Bessett

Administrative Assistant

The Arts learning standards describe what students should know and be able to do in the arts. The final and approved Arts Learning Standards are now available for use and implementation. The standards include five disciplines: dance, media arts, music, theater, and visual arts.

The standards are arranged under four artistic processes for each discipline: creating, performing/presenting/producing, responding, and connecting. Each standard also contains suggestions and examples of tasks students can perform to demonstrate proficiency.

Learning Standards

Arts Learning Standards–Entry Points

COVID-19 has presented particular challenges to learning and teaching in the arts. A Statewide Arts Advisory Team developed this Entry Points document to support teaching the arts during this time, whether remotely, using a hybrid model, or fully in-person. This document is organized by arts discipline with student/family language to use in communication with students and their families.