World Languages K-12 Learning Standards

Contact Information

Veronica Trapani-Huebner

Associate Director of Content, World Languages

Washington state's World Languages K-12 Learning Standards describe what students should be able to do with the language as they develop proficiency.

Learning Standards

The World Languages K-12 Learning Standards are adopted from the National Standards for Foreign Language Learning in the 21st Century, as published by the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL).

The Grade Level Standards & Resources provides quick access to all content standards along with aligned resources to support curriculum development, instructional practices, and assessment of student learning. Choose "World Languages" from the homepage menu.

Common Core State Standards

The four strands of the Common Core State Standards for English Language Arts (ELA) and Literacy in History/Social Studies, Science, and Technical Subjects (Reading, Writing, Speaking and Listening, and Language) have been aligned to the National Standards for Learning Languages by the American Council for the Teaching of Foreign Languages. There are also efforts to translate the Common Core State Standards into other languages, in particular, for use in Dual Immersion-type programs. For example, see Common Core Translation Project.

The World-Readiness Standards for Learning Languages define the central role of world languages in the learning career of every student. The five goal areas of the Standards establish an inextricable link between communication and culture, which is applied in making connections and comparisons and in using this competence to be part of local and global communities. The standards create a roadmap to guide learners to develop competence to communicate effectively and interact with cultural competence to participate in multilingual communities at home and around the world.