Washington State Native American Education Advisory Committee (WSNAEAC)


Office of Native Education—Duties—Report

RCW 28A.300.105

Contact Information

Henry Strom
Executive Director, Native Education

The Washington State Native American Education Advisory Committee (WSNAEAC) reconvened in March 2019 to promote leadership and the unique principles and effective practices of Native American education, which helps to assure academic success and cultural integrity at the community, school, state, and tribal levels. The committee consists of 22 members nominated by tribes and tribal organizations to provide consultation with OSPI on matters and issues related to the well-being and achievement of American Indian and Alaska Native students who attend public, tribal compact, and tribal schools in Washington state.


Washington State Native American Education Advisory Committee Bylaws

Committee Meeting Minutes

2024 Meeting Minutes

January 3, 2024, Meeting Minutes

2023 Meeting Minutes
2022 Meeting Minutes
2021 Meeting Minutes
2020 Meeting Minutes
2019 Meeting Minutes

Committee Members

Member Name Representing
Jennifer LeBret (Spokane Tribe), WSNAEAC Chair Spokane Tribe of Indians | Tribal Representative East
Anna Armstrong (Kalispel Tribe of Indians), WSNAEAC 1st Vice Chair Kalispel Tribe Director of Education | Tribal Representative East
Elese Washines (Confederated Tribes/Band of the Yakama Nation), WSNAEAC 2nd Vice Chair Yakama Nation | Tribal Representative East
Michelle Parkin (Makah) Makah Tribe, Cape Flattery School District, Superintendent | Tribal Representative West
Zenitha Jimicum Tribal Representative West
Michael Vendiola Tribal Representative West
Lolita (Lola) Ceja (Yakama Nation) Toppenish School District | Elementary/Secondary Education East
Vacant Elementary/Secondary Education East
Jarrod Da (Tewa San Ildefonso Pueblo) Snoqualmie Tribe Education Director | Elementary/Secondary Education West
Sonia Barry Elementary/Secondary Education West
Gail Morris Urban Representative
Sara Marie Ortiz (Pueblo of Acoma) Highline Public Schools Native Education Program | Urban Representative
Tamika LaMere Urban Representative
Patricia Whitefoot (Confederated Tribes/Bands of the Yakama Nation) Parent/Grandparent/Guardian/Elder East
Sally Brownfield (Squaxin Island Tribe) Squaxin Island Tribe | Parent/Grandparent/Guardian/Elder West
Joseph Martin (Comanche Nation) Muckleshoot Tribe Education Director | State Tribal Education Compact Schools
Vacant State Tribal Education Compact Schools
Jeremy Rouse (Yankton Sioux) Coordinator of Native Student Accompaniment, Office of Tribal Relations, Gonzaga University | Higher Education Representative
Zoe Higheagle Strong (Nez Perce Tribe) Washington State University, Assistant Professor | Executive Director of Tribal Relations & Special Assistant to the Provost | Higher Education Representative
Cynthia Savini (Makah, Jamestown S’Klallam and Quileute Tribes) Marion Forsman-Boushie Early Learning Center for the Suquamish Tribe | Pre-K/Early Learning Representative
Cindy Kelly (Delaware Nation) Washington State Indian Education Association | Statewide Education Organization ex officio
Jerad Koepp Statewide Education Organization ex officio