African American Studies Workgroup

Contact Information

Andrew Miller

Associate Director, Social Studies

The 2020 legislature created the African American Studies Workgroup (Senate Bill 6168 Sec. 501 [3][i]) to develop recommendations for integrating, in a regular and ongoing basis, African American history, examinations of racism, and the history of the civil rights movement into curriculum provided to students in grades seven through twelve. The workgroup must also examine current curriculum available to school districts as well as professional development needs for educators.

A final report with recommendations is due to the Legislature by November 15, 2020.

Authorizing Legislation

Legislative Report

Report to the Legislature: African American Studies Workgroup 2020 Senate Bill 6168 (2020) Sec. 501 (3)(i)

Committee Meetings

The work of this committee has concluded.

African American Studies Workgroup Members
Name Representing
Angela Stubblefield K-12 Educator
Angelina Riley Student Recommendation
Anthony Brock K-12 Educator
Bonita Lee Community Based Organization
Brooke Brown K-12 Educator
Denisha Saucedo Washington Education Association (WEA)
Dr. James Smith Educational Opportunity Gap Oversight and Accountability Committee (EOGOAC)
Dr. Kamara Taylor Educator Recommendation (Higher Ed.)
Dwane Chappelle Commission on African American Affairs (CAAA)
Emijah Smith Education Advocate
Frederick Butts K-12 Educator
Jamarkus Springfield-Worles K-12 Educator
Julien Pollard K-12 Administrator
Lisa Rice K-12 Educator
Marcia Tate Arunga K-12 Educator
Melyssa Stone K-12 Educator
Roberta Wilburn Higher Ed. Administrator
Savanna Jamerson K-12 Educator
Shanta Watson K-12 Educator
Shyan Selah Youth Education Advocate
Victoria Thompson K-12 Educator