Transitional Bilingual Instruction Program (TBIP) Accountability Task Force


Transitional Bilingual Instructional Program Report

In the 2014 Supplemental Budget, $117,000 of the 2015 general fund is directed to OSPI to convene a task force to design a performance-based assistance and accountability system for the Transitional Bilingual Instruction Program. OSPI must submit a report with recommendations from the task force to the education and fiscal committees of the legislature by January 15, 2016.

This task force has concluded. If you would like past meeting materials please contact Heather Rees with your request.

Authorizing Legislation

ESSB 6002 Section 501(y)

Effective April 4, 2014





Ric Pilgrim Association of Educational Service Districts Assistant Superintendent and Champion for Bilingual Ed./ELL
Patricia Larson Association of Washington State Principals Principal, Foster High School, Tukwila School District
Bernard Koontz BEAC/Highline Public Schools Language Learning Director
Victorya Rouse BEAC/Joel E. Ferris High School Teacher
Veronica Maria Gallardo BEAC/Seattle Public Schools Director, Dept. of ELL and International Programs
Dr. Marsha Riddle Buly BEAC/Western Washington University Professor, Woodring College of Education
Amorina Christenson Chase Middle School/Spokane Public Schools Teacher
Nimco Bulale Commission on African American Affairs East African Community Services, Youth Program Director
Dr. Julie Kang Commission on Asian Pacific American Affairs (Asian Americans) Director of Professional Learning, University of Washington
Lynette Finau Commission on Asian Pacific American Affairs (Pacific Islanders) Commissioner
Nina Williams Kent School District Director of Multilingual Education
Danielle Eidenberg-Noppe Office of the Education Ombuds Education Ombuds
Patricia Valdez-Zontek One America Representative for One America
Gayle Pauley OSPI, Special Programs and Federal Accountability Assistant Superintendent, Special Programs and Federal Accountability
Dr. Kristina Mayer State Board of Education Former Chair of State Board of Education